Briglin Named Chair of the House Committee on Energy and Technology

Representative Timothy Briglin. Source: Vermont General Assembly website

Mr. Briglin is one of the two Representatives for the Windsor-Orange-2 District (Norwich, Sharon, Strafford, and Thetford).

Tim Briglin, one of State Reps for Norwich (as well as Sharon, Strafford, and Thetford) has been named Chair of the Vermont House Committee on Energy and Technology. 

Seven Days columnist John Waters wrote on January 16:

Advertisement: Content continues below...

The committee that's gotten the biggest makeover, in terms of membership and focus, is House Energy and Technology.  [House Speaker Mitzi] Johnson acknowledged that in the 2017-18 session "it wasn't a resounding success. The committee didn't take on the regulatory role that it could have." 

Former chair Stephen Carr retired last year. His replacement is Rep. Tim Briglin (D-Thetford). "Tim is not easily deterred," Johnson explained. "He has good problem-solving and managerial skills." Briglin also has deep experience in corporate finance and is a former staffer for Sen. .Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) and a two-time delegate to the Democratic National Convention. 

Briglin's panel encompasses four highly technical subject areas: energy, telecommunications, broadband and information technology in state government. "The subject matter is so granular," Briglin noted. "Not many in the legislature have relevant background." 

The Vermont General Assembly webpage for the Committee is here.

POSTED: 01.21.2019

Comments 3

Download the DailyUV app today!